RUN welcomes the new Morrison ministry

26 May 2019

> Back to previous page

The Regional Universities Network (RUN) welcomes the Morrison Government’s new ministry. 

The Chair of RUN, Professor Helen Bartlett, warmly welcomed the reappointment of the Hon Dan Tehan MP as Minister for Education. 

“During his previous time in the role, Minister Tehan demonstrated his support for regional Australia and commitment to regional higher education through funding to assist regional students and universities. We look forward to the future implementation of a National Regional, Rural and Remote Education Strategy, which is being developed by the Regional Education Expert Advisory Group, led by the Hon Dr Dennis Napthine” Professor Bartlett said.

“For higher education attainment to grow in regional Australia and increase the number of highly skilled professionals in the regions, regional universities must be able to grow their student numbers. We urge the government to adopt performance measures for the funding of student places from 2020 which will assist us in achieving this goal.

“RUN welcomes the reappointment of the Deputy Prime Minister, the Hon Michael McCormack MP, as Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development. Regional universities are anchor institutions for their regions, and have a key role in the economic, social and cultural development of regional Australia.

“We congratulate the Hon Karen Andrews MP on her reappointment as Minister for Industry, Science and Research.

“We are pleased that the Hon Senator Bridget McKenzie has been appointed as Minister for Agriculture; that the Hon Ken Wyatt MP has been appointed as Minister for Indigenous Affairs; that Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash has been appointed as Minister for Employment, Skills and Family Business; that the Hon Steve Irons MP has been appointed as Minister for Vocational Education and Training; and that the Hon Alan Tudge MP has been appointed as Minister for Population, Cities and Urban Infrastructure. 

“RUN looks forward to working with these and other ministers in areas of importance to regional, rural and remote Australia” Professor Bartlett said. 

“We further congratulate the other appointees to the new Morrison government ministry.” 

Contact: Dr Caroline Perkins, Executive Director, RUN, 0408 482 736 

RUN members are CQUniversity, Federation University Australia, Southern Cross University, University of New England, University of Southern Queensland and the University of the Sunshine Coast.  


Twitter:@RegUniNet   Facebook: @RegionalUniversitiesNetwork   

Issued by: Bernadette Smon, Media Adviser, RUN, 0478 495 457

PDF logoDownload PDF