RUN welcomes revamped Turnbull ministry

19 Jul 2016

> Back to previous page

The Regional Universities Network (RUN) welcomes the Turnbull Government’s expanded new ministry.
The Chair of RUN, Professor Jan Thomas, welcomed the reappointment of Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham as the Minister for Education and Training, and the Hon Greg Hunt MP, as the new Minister for Industry, Innovation, and Science.

“The education and industry portfolios are critical for our higher education sector. RUN urges the ministers to work closely to ensure the sustainability and quality of higher education, international education, research, science and innovation for Australia’s future,” Professor Thomas said.

“RUN welcomes the renewed appointments of Deputy Prime Minister the Hon Barnaby Joyce MPs as Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources; Senator the Hon Fiona Nash as Minister for Regional Development, Regional Communications, Rural Heath, and Local Government and Territories, and the Hon Darren Chester MP, as Minister for Infrastructure and Transport.

“We congratulate Senator the Hon Matt Canavan on his new role as Minister for Resources and Northern Australia. Senator Canavan brings a deep understanding of regional issues which will benefit the national debate,” Professor Thomas said.

“RUN congratulates the Hon Angus Taylor MP as Assistant Minister, Cities and Digital Transformation and we urge the minister to work to maximise the benefits for all Australians, regardless of where they live.

“We congratulate the Hon Craig Laundy MP on his appointment as Assistant Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science and the Hon Karen Andrews MP as Assistant Minister for Vocational Education and Skills.

“We commend the appointment of Dr David Gillespie MP as Assistant Minister for Rural Health. RUN universities are leaders in areas of rural health, including mental health and sports injuries, and we look forward to working with the minister to improve the health outcomes of regional communities.

“RUN also looks forward to working with the other new Ministers in areas of importance to the regions. These portfolios are of key importance to regional Australia.

“We further congratulate the other appointees to the Turnbull Government’s Ministry.”

Contact: Dr Caroline Perkins
Executive Director, Regional Universities Network, 0408 482 736

Find out more about the Regional Universities Network at Follow us on: Twitter: @RegUniNet Facebook:

Issued by: Diana Streak, RUN Media Adviser, 0422 536 064

PDF logoDownload Media Release PDF