RUN welcomes new ministry

25 Mar 2013

> Back to previous page

The Regional Universities Network (RUN) welcomes the Gillard Government’s announcement of its new ministry on March 25.

Of those ministers with particular relevance to RUN we note that The Hon Craig Emerson MP, as Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research, will be assisted by The Hon Sharon Bird MP, as Minister for Higher Education, and Senator the Hon Don Farrell, as Minister for Science and Research. The Hon Anthony Albanese MP will be Minister for Regional Development and Local Government, assisted by the Hon Catherine King MP as Minister for Regional Services, Local Communities and Territories.

The Chair of RUN, Professor David Battersby, warmly welcomed the new ministers to their portfolios.

“The importance of tertiary education and regional Australia has been recognised with the new appointments,” Professor Battersby said.

“We particularly welcome the appointment of two MPs from regional Australia, the Hon Sharon Bird MP, and the Hon Catherine King MP, to their new roles,” he said.

“RUN is keen to explain the policies from its document, Smarter Regions, Smarter Australia, Policy Advice for an Incoming Government, to the new ministers. Our priorities are putting regional universities at the centre of regional development, implementing policies to attract both domestic and international students to regional universities, and building research capacity in strategic areas.

“I look forward to working with the new ministers.”

RUN’s policy document can be found at:


Follow the Regional Universities Network on:

Twitter: @RegUniNet



Contact: Dr Caroline Perkins

Executive Director, Regional Universities Network, mob: 0408 482 736


PDF logoDownload Media Release PDF


Issued by: Aaron Hall, RUN Media Adviser, mob: 0402 756 835