RUN Welcomes Revamped Turnbull Ministry

19 Dec 2017

> Back to previous page

The Chair of RUN, Professor Greg Hill, said that he was particularly pleased to see a number of parliamentarians from regional Australia represented in the ministry.

“Regional Australia must be at the heart of the Government’s decision making for the good of the nation as a whole. The regions need specific, place-based policies and programs,” Prof Hill said.

“RUN welcomes the appointment of the Deputy Prime Minister, the Hon Barnaby Joyce MP, as Minister for Infrastructure and Transport; Deputy Nationals Leader Senator Bridget McKenzie as Minister for Sport, Rural Health and Regional Communications; Dr John McVeigh MP, as Minister for Regional Development, Territories and Local Government, David Littleproud MP as Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources, the Hon Luke Hartsuyker MP as the Assistant Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment.

“Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash is congratulated on her appointment as Minister for Jobs and Innovation; Senator Zed Seselja on becoming the new Assistant Minister for Science, Jobs and Innovation; and the Hon Paul Fletcher MP, on his appointment as Minister for Urban Infrastructure and Cities.

“We further congratulate all the other appointments to the Turnbull Government’s ministry.”

Contact: Dr Caroline Perkins
Executive Director, Regional Universities Network, 0408 482 736

Find out more about the Regional Universities Network at Follow us on: Twitter: @RegUniNet Facebook:

Issued by: Diana Streak, RUN Media Adviser, 0422 536 064

PDF logoDownload Media Release PDF